Nevada gun laws

2019  Nevada Firearm and Ammunition Laws

State Facts About Nevada

Nevada’s nickname is the “Battle Born State” because it became a state during the Civil War. Although its name is Spanish for “Snow-covered”, this desert state is the driest in America. Nevada has the most mountain ranges, hotel rooms, and hot springs than any other state. Nevada is the fourth largest gold producer and has Lake Tahoe, the 3rd deepest lake in the United States. The Las Vegas Strip is 4.2 miles long but has over 70,000 miles of neon lights. Many agricultural products come from Nevada including potatoes, dairy, hay, and cattle. Many people are unaware of the fact that Nevada is the most mountainous state in the U.S. despite its dry climate. Residents of Nevada claim to have seen extraterrestrials along Route 375.

The most populated cities in Nevada are Henderson, Spring Valley, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Paradise, Sunrise Manor, Reno, Enterprise, Carson City and Sparks.

Ammunition Sales Restrictions

  • Nevada does not require a seller to have a license to sell ammunition
  • Additionally, purchasers do not have to obtain a license
  • Ammunition sales records are not required
  • The sale or manufacturing metal-penetrating ammunition for a handgun is prohibited

Firearm Restrictions

  • The minimum age to transport and/or possess a firearm is 18 years of age
  • Nevada is not allowed to confiscate a firearm except if the person in questions is in unlawful possession of a firearm or unlawfully carrying one
  • Any person that is subject to a domestic violence protective order must relinquish their firearms to the police or other law enforcement agencies
  • No permit is required to purchase rifles, shotguns, or handguns
  • Nevada does not require that firearms be registered
  • It is legal to sell, purchase, or possess a silencer or machine gun so long as they are in compliance with any and all federal regulations
  • It is illegal to set any ‘trap gun’ or ‘spring gun’
  • Nevada does not limit the number of firearms an individual can own, do not have to register or license their weapons

Permit & Carry Restrictions

Nevada is a “shall issue state”

A permit will be issued to anyone that is

  • Qualified to be in possession of a handgun under Federal and State law
  • Is at least 21 years of age
  • If the applicant is older than 18 years of age but younger than 21, may receive a permit if he or she is a member of the Armed Forces, National Guard, etc.
  • Has received a certificate showing that he or she has successfully completed a firearms safety course

To apply for a Nevada Concealed Firearm’s permit go to your counties Sheriff’s office

Permit application must also be accompanied by

  • Fingerprint card
  • Personal color photograph
  • Fee

Once issued the permit is valid for 5 years

Only one permit is required for all handguns owned by the permit holder

The permit holder is not required to inform law enforcement if they are in possession of a concealed weapon

  • If requested by the police officer, the permit holder must present proper identification and the permit

Carrying a concealed weapon is allowed in state parks, state forests and road site rest areas

There is no Nevada law stating that it is illegal to carry in establishments that serve alcohol

Open Carry is legal in Nevada, however, there are certain locations where open carry is not allowed

UPDATED: JANUARY 10, 2019
***DISCLAIMER. This information on this page is to be used only as a reference point. Firearm and ammunition laws frequently change. To be entirely sure, please consult with your attorney or local enforcement agencies before making any ammunition or firearm decision.